Doris Day: Day Time on the Radio: Lost Radio Duets CD View full size

Doris Day: Day Time on the Radio: Lost Radio Duets CD

From the Doris Day Show (1952-1953)

More details

Warning: Last items in stock!

£ 10.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 10 loyalty points. Your cart will total 10 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Artist: Doris Day
  • Cat Number: RLGM590.2
  • Barcode: 848064005902

One couldn't imagine a better opening number for the radio program The Doris Day Show than "It's Magic," for each week between March 1952 and May 1953, the versatile song stylist and beloved motion picture star cast a spell over listeners worldwide with an intimate gathering of famous friends filled with music and laughter. Over the course of five dozen broadcasts of The Doris Day Show-recorded in Hollywood in front of a live audience and happily preserved on 16-inch transcription discs-Doris joined her special guests at the piano for performances of songs she often had never commercially recorded. This is a largely unknown and scarcely documented facet of Doris' career, and Day Time on the Radio brings to light no less than 32 rarities including 27 duets and five solo performances. Among her notable foils are frequent leading man Gordon MacRae, who starred in five pictures with Doris; here the two of them sing a total of four duets, highlighted by their medley of "Cuddle Up a Little Closer"/"Till We Meet Again." Movie stars Kirk Douglas, George Murphy, Ronald Reagan (!), and Broderick Crawford all prove willing and able duet partners, while the more musically inclined Tony Martin, Howard Keel, Smilin' Jack Smith, and Frank Loesser lend their formidable talents to a mix of traditional and Broadway inspired fare. Doris' sparkling solo performance of "Till I Waltz Again with You" finishes Day Time on the Radio with a flourish before a couple of hidden bonus tracks: her renditions of the opening "It's Magic" and closing "Love to Be with You" radio themes sans announcer. Joe Marchese's detailed notes and rare photos round out what is a fantastic addition to the Doris Day discography, the first authorized release ever of her long-lost radio performances.


  • 1 It's Magic (The Doris Day Show Radio Opening
  • 2 A Wooin' We Will Go
  • 3 The Love Nest
  • 4 You're Just in Love
  • 5 Ma Says, Pa Says
  • 6 Dearie
  • 7 Life Will Be Peaches & Cream
  • 8 Red Hot Henry Brown
  • 9 I Will Marry You
  • 10 By the Light of the Silvery Moon
  • 11 A Kiss Like This
  • 12 Merrily Song
  • 13 Take Me Out to the Ball Game
  • 14 I'm Forever Blowing Bubbles
  • 15 Tea for Two
  • 16 We're in Love
  • 17 My Darling, My Darling
  • 18 Around the Corner
  • 19 Wait Till the Sun Shines Nellie
  • 20 Little By Little
  • 21 Something Sort of Grandish
  • 22 You're My Peaches & Cream
  • 23 Together
  • 24 I'll Be Seeing You
  • 25 Ma Says, Pa Says
  • 26 I'm Gonna Mend My Fences
  • 27 Cuddle Up a Little Closer/Till We Meet Again
  • 28 Jingle Bells/Hark! the Herald Angels Sing
  • 29 Love to Be with You (The Doris Day Show Radio Closing)
  • 30 Till I Waltz Again with You
  • 31 It's Magic
  • 32 Love to Be with You


May we also suggest...

Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links