Chess CD View full size

Chess CD

The Original Concept Recording.

More details

Currently out of stock - Place an order for this item and we'll send it when it becomes available.

On sale

£ 18.95

-£ 7.00

£ 11.95

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 11 loyalty points. Your cart will total 11 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Artist: Elaine Paige, Murray Head, Tommy Korberg, Barbara Dickson, Denis Quilley, Bjorn Skifs, The London Symphony Orchestra, The Ambrosian Singers
  • Composer: Benny Andersson, Tim Rice, Bjorn Ulvaeus
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Recording: 1996
  • Cat Number: 8474452
  • Barcode: 042284744522
  • Release Date: March 4, 1996

Chess is a musical that sounds like it shouldn't work but instead succeeds surprisingly well. This is the original concept album that was recorded before the musical was staged in London. Chess is the story of a love triangle told against the backdrop of an international chess tournament during the height of the cold war.

The composers are Benny Andersson and Bjorn Ulvaeus (the Bs in ABBA) and the lyrics are by Tim Rice who supplied the words for Andrew Lloyd Webber's Jesus Christ Superstar and Evita as well as Disney's Aladdin (with Howard Ashman) The Lion King and Beauty and the Beast.

The six-member cast does a beautiful job with the songs which are a combination of ballads rock and operatic choruses. Murray Head's version of "One Night in Bangkok" became a surprise hit in the mid-'80s and it still turns up on the turntables in dance clubs around the world.


Disc 1:
1. Merano
2. The Russian And Molokov/Where I Want To Be
3. Opening Ceremony
4. Quartet (A Model Of Decorum And Tranquillity)
5. The American And Florence/Nobody's Side
6. Chess
7. Mountain Duet
8. Florence Quits
9. Embassy Lament
10. Anthem

Disc 2:
1. Bangkok/One Night In Bangkok
2. Heaven Help My Heart
3. Argument
4. I Know Him So Well
5. The Deal (No Deal)
6. Pity The Child
7. Endgame (Exclusive to the CD)    
8. Epilogue: You And I/The Story Of Chess (Exclusive to the CD)

Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links