Man in the Moon Original Broadway Cast CD View full size

Man in the Moon Original Broadway Cast CD

Collector's Series

More details

£ 9.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 9 loyalty points. Your cart will total 9 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Artist: Bil,Cora Baird, Franz Fazakas, Frank Sullivan, Gerald Freedman
  • Composer: Jerry Bock
  • Lyricist: Sheldon Harnick
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Cat Number: STAGE2400
  • Barcode: 5055122154105
  • Release Date: 30th June 2017
  • Label: Stage Door

Collector's Series

The Broadway musical 'Man in the Moon' was a collaboration between famed puppeteers Bil and Cora Baird and the award winning Broadway writing team of lyricist Sheldon Harnick and composer Jerry Bock. The original cast album now makes its debut on CD.

The production opened at New York's Biltmore Theatre on April 11th 1963 and ran for 22 performances. Two weeks later, Harnick and Bock's critically acclaimed musical 'She Loves Me' opened on Broadway and although 'Man In The Moon' would not achieve the same enduring legacy as 'She Loves Me', the charismatic children's musical still proved a critical success and contained five original and memorable songs by Harnick and Bock.

'Man in the Moon' was conceived by Bil Baird and featured a book by Arthur Burns. The story centred around the young protagonist Jerry who is beamed to the moon to act as an "Earth Ambassador" and state a case in the defence of our planet to the 'Man in the Moon'. Jerry is unexpectedly accompanied on his journey by jewel thief Flicker and his gang of henchmen.
The New York Times found the 'Man in the Moon' to be like a "box of holiday bon-bons" and praised Bock and Harnick's "snappy score". The limited theatre run was preceded by an Original Cast Album on Golden Records featuring Bil and Cora Baird, Franz Fazakas, Frank Sullivan, Gerald Freedman and session singers Rose Marie Jun and Eric Carlson. The album featured the dialogue scenes interspersed with the original songs by Bock and Harnick.

It is coupled here with the unreleased original demos for the show performed by composers Sheldon Harnick and Jerry Bock. The release continues Stage Door's Collector's Series, a line of limited edition CD products presented in slim cardboard sleeves, in a retro style of a miniature long-playing record. All Collector's Series titles are limited to 500 units.


1.     Overture     01:28
2.     Jerry Goes to the Moon - Part I     05:52
3.     Look Where I Am     02:26
4.     Jerry Goes to the Moon - Part III     02:29
5.     Itch to Be Rich     03:05
6.     Jerry Goes to the Moon - Part III     02:09
7.     Worlds Apart     03:45
8.     Jerry Meets the Man in the Moon - Part I     02:59
9.     You Treacherous Men     01:40
10.     Jerry Meets the Man in the Moon - Part II     01:39
11.     Ain't You Never Been Afraid     02:44
12.     Jerry Meets the Man in the Moon - Part III     04:23
13.     Worlds Apart (Reprise)     00:45
14.     Look Where I Am (Demo Recording)     01:31
15.     Itch to Be Rich (Demo Recording)     04:07
16.     Worlds Apart (Demo Recording)     03:22
17.     You Treacherous Men (Demo Recording)     01:42
18.     Ain't You Never Been Afraid (Demo Recording)     02:49

Customers who bought this product also bought:

Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links