Swan Esther Original Cast Recording View full size

Swan Esther Original Cast Recording

Original Cast Recording

More details

£ 9.98

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 9 loyalty points. Your cart will total 9 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Artist: Stephanie Lawrence,Denis Quilley,Clive Carter
  • Lyricist: Nick Munns, J. Edward Oliver,
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Cat Number: STAGE9035
  • Barcode: 5055122190356
  • Release Date: May 26, 2014

'Swan Esther' is a musical retelling of the biblical story of Esther, the Jewish Queen of the Persian King Ahaseuerus. The musical was the brainchild of legendary theatre producer David Land in a bid to replicate the earlier success he had achieved with 'Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat'.

'Swan Esther' now debuts on CD, it includes the complete 1983 concept album coupled with studio rehearsal demos of the additional songs composed for the touring production 'Swan Esther and the King'.

Featuring an upbeat and memorable score by Nick Munns and J. Edward Oliver, the cast includes Stephanie Lawrence as Esther, Denis Quilley as Haman and Clive Carter as the minstrel Mordecai. 'Swan Esther' opened at London's Young Vic Theatre in December 1983 for a limited run starring Amanda Redman in the title role.

After undergoing many revisions, the show embarked on a successful UK tour in 1985 produced by Bill Kenwright. Now titled 'Swan Esther and the King' the new production starred Jackie Marks, Chris Corcoran and Warwick Evans and featured additional songs composed with Shirlie Roden and Jon Miller.


1.     Introduction And Bow Down     -
2.     A Far Outpost Of Persia
3.     The Queen's Party
4.     The Emperor's Wrath
5.     Haman's Advice
6.     A Bright Idea
7.     I've Neglected To Mention
8.     We All Need
9.     My Love Is Like A Dream
10.     Bow Down (Let's Meet The Queen)
11.     A Strange Girl
12.     Kill The King!
13.     The Emperor's Memoirs
14.     Treason
15.     I Am Great!
16.     I Don't Trust Haman
17.     Nothing To Lose     
18.     Esther     
19.     Evil Haman     
20.     The King Can't Sleep
21.     Finale (Haman's The One / Ahasuerus Repents / Esther And Mordecai / Swan Esther)
22.     Men Are Pigs
23.     Take Away My Crown
24.     One Love
25.     Country Girl
26.     Golden State
27.     Persia Is Stable
28.     Which Way Shall I Turn?
29.     The Generation Game
30.     One Love (Reprise)
31.     Here Stands A Man (From 'How Green Was My Valley')


Customers who bought this product also bought:

Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links