Beyond The Gate CD View full size

Beyond The Gate CD

An Original Musical Revue

More details

£ 9.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 9 loyalty points. Your cart will total 9 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Cat Number: SimGR-CD05
  • Barcode: 5065001707049
  • Release Date: July 29, 2002
  • Label: SimG Records

Beyond The Gate was conceived by Mercury Musical Developments and The Gate Theatre. In early 2011 a workshop revue was presented at The Gate to showcase the songwriting skills of some of the best writers in Britain - from the established Don Black, Frank Lazarus, Richard Stilgoe, to the rising talent Craig Adams, Dougal Irvine, Stuart Matthew Price, Tim Sutton. The revue was based around Ancient Greece and MMD members submitted a broad range of material; including contemporary songs about what it means to be a hero, odes to Helen, both comic and yearning, cries from embittered soldiers, and songs about mythical adventurers and Kings such as Paris, Achilles and Menaleus. The original cast recording stars David Burt (‘Kiss Me Kate’ at Chichester), Stuart Matthew Price (‘Parade’ at the Donmar) and Cath Whitefield (‘Hedda’ at the Gate), and features beautiful arrangements by Tony winner Sarah Travis (‘Sweeney Todd’ on Broadway).


  1. Did It Really Happen?    Music by Sarah Travis, Lyrics by Don Black
  2. Siren Song    Music by Cathy Shostak, Lyrics by Chris Burgess
  3. Horse Whispers    Music & Lyrics by Tim Sutton
  4. Dear Helen      Music & Lyrics by Craig Adams
  5. Menelaus Weeps       Music & Lyrics by James Humphreys
  6. It’s Not About Him       Music & Lyrics by Richard Stilgoe
  7. Helen’s Apologia      Music & Lyrics by Maurice Chernick
  8. This Baby Sleeps    Music & Lyrics by John Farndon
  9. The Boat To Troy      Music & Lyrics by Dougal Irvine
  10. Out On The Balcony        Music by Eric Angus, Lyrics by Paul James
  11. Helen        Music & Lyrics by Frank Lazarus
  12. Cassandra’s Lament       Music & Lyrics by Gwyneth Herbert
  13. Stories Of Heroes      Music & Lyrics by Stuart Matthew Price

Customers who bought this product also bought:


Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links