Donnybrook ! Original Broadway Cast Cd View full size

Donnybrook ! Original Broadway Cast Cd

Release Date 26th January Pre-Order Now

More details

Currently out of stock - Place an order for this item and we'll send it when it becomes available.

£ 9.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 9 loyalty points. Your cart will total 9 points.

    Donnybrook!' was a musical based on the 1933 Maurice Walsh story 'The Quiet Man' and featured music and lyrics by Academy Award winning composer Johnny Burke and book by Robert E. McEnroe. The production was directed and choreographed by Jack Cole and featured an all-star cast led by Eddie Foy Jr., Art Lund, Joan Fagan, Susan Johnson and Philip Bosco. The story of 'Donnybrook!' centres on John Enright, an Irish-American ex-prize fighter who, having accidentally killed a man in the ring, returns home to Ireland to lead a quiet life. Settling in the small town of Innesfree, Enright falls in love with Ellen Roe, however to win Ellen's heart, he is forced to participate in a wild brawl and thus prove his courage.'Donnybrook!' opened on Broadway at the 46th Street Theatre on May 18th 1961 to generally mixed reviews. Despite an enchanting score by Johnny Burke (described in Billboard as "highly listenable") and a first rate cast and creative team, the show closed after just 68 performances. In the week the show opened on Broadway, the original cast album of 'Donnybrook!' was recorded, produced by David Kapp for Kapp Records (Kapp was also co-producer on the show). The Original Broadway Cast album of 'Donnybrook!' now makes it's debut on CD, coupled with the highly collectable album of instrumental selections from Johnny Burke's score, performed by the Pete King Orchestra.


    2 Sez I - Joan Fagan, Darrell J. Askey, Alfred Desio, James Gannon, Bruce MacKay, Clarence Nordstrom
    3 The Day the Snow Is Meltin' - Eddie Foy
    4 Sad Was the Day - Susan Johnson and Ensemble
    5 Donnybrook - Ensemble
    6 Ellen Roe - Art Lund
    7 The Loveable Irish - Art Lund, Charles C. Welch
    8 I Wouldn't Bet One Penny - Eddie Foy, Susan Johnson
    9 He Makes Me Feel I'm Lovely - Joan Fagan
    10 I Have My Own Way - Art Lund
    11 A Toast to the Bride - Clarence Nordstrom
    12 Wisha Wurra - Eddie Foy, Alfred Disio, James Gannon, Bruce MacKay, Clarence Nordstrom
    13 A Quiet Life - Art Lund
    14 Mr. Flynn - Susan Johnson, Sibyl Bowman, Grace Carney
    15 Dee-Lightful Is the World - Eddie Foy, Susan Johnson
    16 For My Own - Joan Fagan
    17 Finale - the Company
    18 The Pete King Orchestra Plays the Music of 'Donnybrook!' (Stereo)
    19 If It Isn't Everything
    20 The Day the Snow Is Meltin'
    21 Sad Was the Day
    22 Ellen Roe
    23 Sez I
    24 A Toast to the Bride
    25 I Wouldn't Bet One Penny
    26 Donnybrook
    27 He Makes Me Feel I'm Lovely
    28 Wisha Wurra
    29 I Have My Own Way
    30 Dee-Lightful Is the Word
    31 For My Own
    32 Mr. Flynn

    Sign up for offers and news

    ©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

    About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links