High Tor Original Cast Recording CD View full size

High Tor Original Cast Recording CD

Part Of  The Collector Series

More details

Warning: Last items in stock!

£ 9.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 9 loyalty points. Your cart will total 9 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Artist: Bing Crosby, Julie Andrews
  • Cat Number: STAGE2420
  • Barcode: 5055122154303
  • Label: Stage Door

The songs and story album of 'High Tor' now makes its debut on CD. The album effectively abridges the story of the 90 minute broadcast, interspersing dialogue from the television soundtrack with studio recordings of the song score performed by Bing Crosby, Julie Andrews and Everett Sloane.
The release is complemented by two bonus track cover recordings of the film's main theme "When You're in Love'", performed by the Leroy Holmes Orchestra and Chorus and The Lancers.
'High Tor' is regarded as being the first recognised made for television movie. Filmed in November 1955, the television musical was based on Maxwell Anderson's 1936 play 'High Tor'. Anderson had first considered adapting 'High Tor' as a musical for television in 1949 and enlisted Arthur Schwartz to compose the song score.

Both Anderson and Schwartz envisaged the musical as a star vehicle for Bing Crosby who played the lead role of Van Van Dorn. After Crosby had seen Julie Andrews perform in her Broadway debut 'The Boy Friend', he insisted she play the female lead of Lise, marking Andrews' debut on US television.

'High Tor' was broadcast on March 10th 1956 by CBS Television as part of the Ford Star Jubilee and received mixed reviews. Despite a lukewarm reaction from critics, an album featuring the songs and story of 'High Tor' was issued by Decca.

The release continues Stage Door's Collector's Series, a line of limited edition CD products packaged in a card sleeve and presented in the retro style of a miniature long-playing record. All Collector's Series titles are limited to 500 units.


1. "Why Yes, I'll Tell You What Happened On High Tor…" 01:09
2. Living One Day at a Time 03:03
3. "Just After That, Two First Class Skinflints..." 00:41
4. When You're in Love 02:36
5. "So There I Was Up There Alone..." 00:38
6. Sad is the Life of the Sailor's Wife 02:15
7. "And Then They All Drifted Away..." 00:44
8. When You're in Love 02:30
9. "I Don't Know Whether You'll Believe This..." 01:14
10. A Little Love A Little While 03:09
11. "I Don't Know Whether I Believe This Next Part..." 01:24
12. When You're in Love (Reprise) 00:59
13. "At That Moment the Bank Robbers Came Back..." 00:38
14. John Barleycorn 02:35
15. "They Began to Offer Me Real Money for High Tor..." 01:18
16. Once Upon a Long Ago 03:00
17. "I Didn't Hear Judy Coming..." 01:11
18. Once Upon a Long Ago 02:40
19. "There Isn't Much More to Tell..." 00:13
20. John Barleycorn (Reprise) 02:18
21. "They Got Out in a Couple of Days..." 00:37
22. A Little Love A Little While (Reprise) 01:04
23. When You're in Love (Bonus Track) 03:04
24. When You're in Love (Bonus Track)

Customers who bought this product also bought:

Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links