Pocahontas West End  Musical CD View full size

Pocahontas West End Musical CD

West End show lost studio recording from 1962

More details

£ 8.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 8 loyalty points. Your cart will total 8 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Artist: Anita Gillette,Terence Cooper
  • Composer: Kermit Goell
  • Lyricist: Kermit Goell
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Recording: 1962
  • Runtime: 73min
  • Cat Number: STAGE 9049
  • Barcode: 5055122190493
  • Label: Stage Door

Over 50 years since Kermit Goell's 'Pocahontas' was performed in London's West End, Stage Door are pleased to present the first opportunity to hear selections from this lost theatre score. 'Pocahontas' opened at London's Lyric Theatre in November 1963, featuring music, book and lyrics by Kermit Goell and starring Anita Gillette in the title role alongside Terence Cooper playing both roles of John Smith and John Rolfe. The musical encompassed all aspects of Pocahontas' life story, from her beginnings in Virginia to her death in Gravesend in March 1617. The production first opened as 'The Princess Pocahontas' at the Glasgow Alhambra Theatre on October 8th 1963, later playing theatres in Leeds and Liverpool before transferring to London's Lyric Theatre, opening on November 14th 1963 and closing after just 12 performances. Recently discovered studio demos of the show, recorded in 1962 with a company of Broadway singers, now make their debut on CD accompanied by a selection of piano instrumentals from the score. The tapes, which had not been played since 1963, were discovered amongst Kermit Goell's archive by his son Jonathan and have been digitally restored for this album release. As a special bonus, the CD concludes with a newly recorded interview with Anita Gillette, the star of 'Pocahontas', reflecting on her memories of the production.



1. Free As a Bird - Demo Cast
2. She Fancied Me - Demo Cast
3. You Have to Want to Touch Him - Demo Cast
4. Too Many Miles from London Town - Demo Cast
5. I Love You Johnny Smith - Demo Cast
6. Things - Demo Cast
7. Virginia - Demo Cast
8. Oranges and Lemons - Demo Cast
9. I Have Lost My Way - Demo Cast
10. Love Thy Neighbour - Demo Cast
11. Oranges and Lemons (Reprise) - Demo Cast
12. I Have Lost My Way (Reprise) - Demo Cast
13. Finale - Virginia - Demo Cast

14. She Fancied Me - Kermit Goell
15. Free As a Bird - Kermit Goell
16. You Have to Want to Touch Him - Kermit Goell
17. Too Many Miles from London Town - Kermit Goell
18. I Love You Johnny Smith - Kermit Goell
19. Things - Kermit Goell
20. Virginia - Kermit Goell
21. Oranges and Lemons - Kermit Goell
22. I Have Lost My Way - Kermit Goell
23. Love Thy Neighbour - Kermit Goell
24. Anita Gillette 2016 Interview (Bonus Track) - Anita Gillette

Customers who bought this product also bought:

Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links