Anya Original Cast Recording CD View full size

Anya Original Cast Recording CD

Ziegfeld Theatre 1965

More details

Currently out of stock - Place an order for this item and we'll send it when it becomes available.

£ 19.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 19 loyalty points. Your cart will total 19 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Artist: Barbara Alexander, Boris Aplon,Lillian Gish, George S. Irving,Michael Kermoyan,John Michael King,Irra Petina,Michael Quinn, Edwin Steffe,Maggie Task
  • Composer: George Forrest,Sergei Rachmaninoff,Robert Wright
  • Lyricist: George Forrest,Robert Wright
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Cat Number: KR-20012-2
  • Barcode: 857252001220


Original Cast Recording of Anya, with a score by Robert Wright and George Forrest (based on themes by Sergei Rachmaninoff).
Anya, the musical version of Anastasia, opened on Broadway at the end of 1965 at the Ziegfeld Theater and lasted a mere fifteen performances. Nobody would have predicted that a new musical by the team that wrote Kismet (here doing to Rachmaninoff what in Kismet they did to Borodin), written by George Abbott and Guy Bolton, and direction by George Abbott would end up being such a troubled production and such a huge flop. Happily, United Artists Records went ahead and recorded the cast album and just as happily we’re thrilled to finally bring it to CD. Whatever the show’s problems (it’s been revised several times since), the album is filled with glorious music, excellent performances, and is indeed a most musical musical. The Rachmaninoff “themes” are masterfully used by Wright and Forrest (no one was better at that sort of thing than they were), and Don Walker’s orchestrations and Harold Hastings’ musical direction make the most out of all of those gorgeous melodies.
The wonderful cast includes: Constance Towers, Michael Kermoyan, Lillian Gish, and Irra Petina, as well as the still alive and kicking George S. Irving. New liner notes are by Walter Willison (Tony-nominee for Two By Two), who was very close to Wright and Forrest.


  1. Choral Prelude: Anya/Song From Somewhere
  2. Vodka Vodka
  3. So Proud
  4. Homeward
  5. Snowflakes and Sweethearts
  6. Six Palaces
  7. Hand In Hand
  8. On That Day
  9. This Is My Kind Of Love
  10. Reprise: On That Day
  11. That Prelude
  12. A Quiet Land
  13. Here Tonight, Tomorrow Where?
  14. Leben Sie Wohl
  15. If This Is Goodbye
  16. Little Hands
  17. All Hail The Empress/Choral Finale: Anya


Customers who bought this product also bought:


Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links