Flower Drum Song Remastered original Broadway cast Cd View full size

Flower Drum Song Remastered original Broadway cast Cd

*  The "must-have" 1959 stereo recording of the studio cast.
* Features unseen photos & in-depth liner notes.
* Bonus tracks (listed below)

More details

Currently out of stock- Enter your email address below to be notified when it becomes available

£ 11.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 11 loyalty points. Your cart will total 11 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Artist: Miyoshi Umeki,Juanita Hall,Ed Kenney,Keye Luke, Arabella Hong,Pat Suzuki
  • Composer: Richard Rodgers
  • Lyricist: Oscar Hammerstein II
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Cat Number: 50136
  • Barcode: 886975013623

When Oscar Hammerstein visited his friend Joseph Fields during the filming of South Pacific for 20th Century-Fox, Fields mentioned he was in the process of acquiring the rights to The Flower Drum Song, a novel by C. Y. Lee. Set in San Francisco’s Chinatown, it told the story of a young Chinese-American man torn between his own leanings and his desire to comply with his father’s rigorous, traditional teachings. Intrigued, Hammerstein read the book and immediately saw in it the gem for a new musical. Richard Rodgers also warmed to the idea and the two soon joined Fields as co-librettist and began work on it. The music Rodgers wrote reflected some of the traditions of old China, mixed with the brasher aspects of American culture; his approach found an echo in Hammerstein’s lyrics, which were modeled after Asian poetry on the one hand and contemporary American lingo on the other. As a result, Flower Drum Song emerged as perhaps the team's best-integrated work.


1.     Overture -- Orchestra     (4:09)
2.     You Are Beautiful -- Ed Kenney, Juanita Hall     (4:01)
3.     A Hundred Million Miracles -- Miyoshi Umeki, Conrad Yama, Keye Luke, Juanita Hall, Rose Quong     (4:22)
4.     I Enjoy Being a Girl -- Pat Suzuki     (3:33)
5.     I Am Going to Like It Here -- Miyoshi Umeki     (3:49)
6.     Like a God -- Ed Kenney     (1:32)
7.     Chop Suey -- Juanita Hall, Patrick Adiarte, Ensemble     (2:35)
8.     Don't Marry Me -- Larry Blyden, Miyoshi Umeki     (4:09)
9.     Grant Avenue -- Pat Suzuki, Ensemble     (2:31)
10.     Love Look Away -- Arabella Hong     (3:30)
11.     At the Celestial Bar:Fan Tan Fannie  Gliding Through My Memoree Grant Avenue (Reprise) -- Anita Ellis, Jack Soo, Pat Suzuki,Ensemble  (5:01)
12.     Entr'act -- Orchestra     (1:31)
13.     The Other Generation -- Juanita Hall, Keye Luke     (3:13)
14.     Sunday -- Pat Suzuki, Larry Blyden     (4:18)
15.     The Other Generation (Reprise) -- Patrick Adiarte, Children     (1:59)
16.     Wedding Parade  A Hundred Million Miracles (Reprise) -- Ensemble     (2:27)
17.     Grant Avenue -- Florence Henderson (Bonus) (2:14)
18.     Love, Look Away -- Pat Suzuki (Bonus)     (3:20)
19.     Fan Tan Fanny -- Sandra Church (Bonus)     (2:06)
20.     Like a God -- Florence Henderson (Bonus) (2:27)
21.     Sunday -- Pat Suzuki (Bonus)     (2:24)
22.     I Enjoy Being a Girl -- Florence Henderson (Bonus) (2:28)

Customers who bought this product also bought:


Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links