The Golden Apple Broadway cast CD View full size

The Golden Apple Broadway cast CD

Two CD set. Featuring nearly 90 minutes of previously unrecorded music and the complete libretto, PS Classics' deluxe cast recording of The Golden Apple gives new life to a musical milestone of the American theatre.

More details

£ 13.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 13 loyalty points. Your cart will total 13 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Barcode: 803607152826
  • Release Date: 2/62015

When it premiered in 1954, composer Jerome Moross and librettist John Latouche's The Golden Apple was hailed as "the most original musical since Oklahoma!" (The Washington Post), "the best thing that has happened in and to the theatre in a very long time" (New York Daily News), and "a magnificent achievement. A sensational success. The most imaginative work of its kind" (New York Daily Mirror). It's blend of American folklore and Greek myth, popular entertainment and high art, and musical comedy and operatic drama "stood Manhattan on its ear," winning the New York Drama Critics' Circle prize for Best Musical (the first Off-Broadway show to do so) and spawning the standard "Lazy Afternoon." Yet, sadly, this 135-minute through-sung musical was preserved only in a 48-minute LP, and after a short-lived transfer to Broadway, THE GOLDEN APPLE all but slipped into obscurity. In November of 2014, the Lyric Stage of Irving, Texas, mounted a fully-staged revival of The Golden Apple, featuring an orchestra of 38 and a 43-member cast, and PS Classics was there to preserve the score in its entirety.

Disc One:

  1.     Overture
  2.     Nothing Ever Happens in Angel's Roost
  3.     Angel's Roost Has Its Situation
  4.     Mother Hare's Seance
  5.     My Love Is on the Way
  6.     The Heroes Come Home
  7.     It Was a Glad Adventure
  8.     Come Along Boys
  9.     It's the Going Home Together
  10.     Mother Hare's Prophecy
  11.     Good Is a Word That Fools Believe
  12.     It's the Going Home Together (Continuation)
  13.     Helen Is Always Willing
  14.     The Arrival of Paris
  15.     Let's Pay a Visit
  16.     The Picnic Table
  17.     Mother Hare's Return
  18.     An Impartial Judge
  19.     The Judgment of Paris
  20.     If You Select My Angel Food
  21.     I'll Teach You
  22.     The Loveliest Things in Life
  23.     It's a Fraud
  24.     Paris Visits Helen
  25.     Lazy Afternoon
  26.     The Departure for Rhododendron

Disc Two:

  1.     My Picture in the Papers
  2.     Plumes on Her Hat
  3.     Form a Committee
  4.     The Prize Fight
  5.     Let's Go Home
  6.     Hector's Song
  7.     A Good Girl
  8.     Windflowers
  9.     Store-Bought Suit
  10.     Hurry! Hurry!
  11.     Calypso
  12.     Paradise Alley
  13.     Scylla and Charybdis
  14.     A Carefree Diversion
  15.     Goona-Goona
  16.     One Hell of a Bender
  17.     Doomed, Doomed, Doomed
  18.     Enough is Enough!
  19.     Circe
  20.     Ulysses' Soliloquy
  21.     Busy Little Sewing Bee
  22.     Penelope's Tirade
  23.     We've Just Begun

Customers who bought this product also bought:


Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links