Anthony Newley The Good Old Bad Old Days CD View full size

Anthony Newley The Good Old Bad Old Days CD

Anthony Newley The Good Old Bad Old Days CD

More details

Warning: Last items in stock!

£ 8.99

Add to Wishlist

Collect up to 8 loyalty points. Your cart will total 8 points.

  • Format: CD
  • Artist: Paul Bacon, Keith Chegwin, Fred Evans, Bill Kerr, Terry Mitchell, Anthony Newley ,Julia Sutton, Caroline Villiers
  • Composer: Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley
  • Lyricist: Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Recording: 1972
  • Barcode: 5055122190387
  • Release Date: 27th Jan 2015

Featuring several songs that were later cut from the final West End production. The recordings featured on this album are previously unreleased and have been restored from Newley's own private archive.

'The Good Old Bad Old Days' was Anthony Newley and Leslie Bricusse's third musical written for the stage and originally intended as a Broadway comeback for Newley after several years of performing his one man show in Las Vegas.

Written between 1971-1972, the musical conceived as "a simple little saga about Man, Life, Death, God, and the Devil, with the History of the World thrown in?" finally found a home at London's Prince Of Wales Theatre, opening on December 20th and running for a total of 309 performances.

Although the show received mixed reviews, the score is considered to be one of the most accomplished musical works Newley and Bricusse created during their illustrious writing partnership. Songs from the show were subsequently recorded by the likes of Sammy Davis Jnr, Tony Bennett, Frankie Vaughan and Petula Clark.


1. The Good Old Bad Old Days 
2. The Fool Who Dared To Dream 
3. The Wisdom Of The World 
4. A Cotton Pickin' Moon 
5. We've Got A Cure For Everything On Broadway 
6. And Women Must Wait 
7. Today 
8. Tomorrow 
9. Yesterday 
10. Thanksgiving Day 
11. I Do Not Love You 
12. The Good Things In Life 
13. The People Tree 
14. It's A Musical World 
15. The Wisdom Of The World (Alternate Version) 
16. Hell Of A Night 
17. It's A Funny Old World 
18. Musn't Grumble Can't Complain 
19. What's The Matter God? (Live) 
20. Mister Sniffles (Bonus Track)

Customers who bought this product also bought:

Sign up for offers and news

©2013 Dress Circle of London Ltd.

About Dress Circle | Contact Us | Terms of Sale |Delivery & Returns | Our Cookie Policy | Advertise | Links